Things I Liked In September 2023

Earlier this week I announced that “Preying Monsters,” the final book in the “Forgotten Monsters” trilogy, will be released on October 16, 2023. I can’t wait! I just finished a read-through of the proof copy and I’m really proud of what I accomplished. I just hope that you will like the book as much as I do! I’m going to put the ebook up for a short pre-order sometime next week and I’ll make sure to post about that too. I want to make sure everything is ready to go for release day and a pre-order helps to ensure things go a little bit smoother. I’m going to be pretty busy the week before release and probably won’t have much time to focus on those things, but more on that in a future post…

I Love TV

Recently I watched the new “Interview with the Vampire” series because it was temporarily streaming on (HBO) Max. I’d never seen the movie nor have I read the book so I went into the show kind of blind. I was surprised by how much I liked it. I’ve never been one to find vampires sexy or alluring. They’re the bad guys! I prefer my vampires evil and dangerous. The show somehow managed to get me to view these vampires as both sexy and dangerous and I loved it. It follows the life story of vampire Louis as he’s interviewed in the present day by journalist Daniel Malloy. In 1910s New Orleans, Louis is romanced by vampire Lestat and is later turned by him. They end up having a very toxic relationship, which only worsens when they turn Claudia, a young teenager, and have her become part of their family. Like I said, these vampires are dangerous and they’re unpredictable so I really was surprised by a few things. Watch it!

Fisk” is an Australian comedy series on Netflix and it was really just so funny. It reminds me a bit of “The Office” in some ways, though I wouldn’t go into it expecting that. It follows Helen Tudor-Fisk, a down-on-her-luck lawyer, as she moves to Melbourne after her career and marriage fall apart. She finds a job at another firm and each episode introduces a new wacky client. Kitty Flanagan does such a remarkable job as Fisk and never reduces her to a caricature. The supporting cast is phenomenal as well and really helps to elevate the material. Definitely watch this! (Unfortunately, as of this writing, only the first season of the show is available on US Netflix…I’m really, really hoping that changes!)

Movies I Enjoyed

Okay, so “Spy” is almost a decade old and I’ve seen it dozens of times by now but it is so good and I have to officially recommend it. It was recently added to (HBO) Max so I had no choice but to stop everything I was doing and watch it. It’s by far one of Melissa McCarthy’s best films and she’s truly amazing in it, as are Rose Byrne, Jason Statham, Jude Law, Miranda Hart, and others. The films follows McCarthy’s character, Susan Cooper, as she gets a promotion of sorts to be a secret agent. Her mission is to try to trace a stolen portable nuclear device, but she ends up having to go even deeper undercover in a little mix-up that has her working as a bodyguard to terrorist Rayna Boyanov. Honestly, it’s just a really funny film and has some incredible one-liners and action scenes. If you haven’t watched it yet, please do! It’s one movie that I feel needs and deserves a sequel!!

The Books I’ve Liked

So maybe you saw my recent announcement that the final book in my “Forgotten Monsters” trilogy, “Preying Monsters,” is going to be released on Monday, October 16? Well, I’ve spent September working on it and putting on the necessary final touches. I ordered the proof for it, and read through the entire thing to make sure it’s fit for release! And I loved it! So pick up your copy – ebook or paperback – on October 16!

Music

One thought on “Things I Liked In September 2023

  1. Pingback: Things I Liked In December 2023 (and for the year!) – Michael Procopio

Leave a comment