Announcing My New Book, “Red Flags”

I’ve been teasing this new series for a long time but now I can finally share with you the cover and blurb for the first book. “Red Flags” will release on Monday, February 5, 2024. I can’t wait for you to read it!


Mateo Álvarez-Moreno is an undercover agent at the Department of Supernatural Activity (DOSA) and has recently been assigned his worst mission yet: as the lead on the reality TV dating series Red Flags.
 
As if being the first gay and non-white lead suitor wasn’t overwhelming enough, intel from DOSA suggests that one of the other contestants is secretly a demon. Mateo has been tasked to apprehend the monster before it can kill or maim the other contestants and crew members.
 
There’s just one tiny problem. One of the guys he’s falling for might be the demon he’s supposed to kill. Now Mateo must put aside his feelings until the mission is complete or he risks starring in the most murderous season in
Red Flags history.


I love this cover so much, and I have to thank the talented and wonderful staff at Damonza. I’ll write more about my experience with them (all positive) in a future post, but for now I want to make sure they get all the credit for this beautiful cover! I’ve had it since mid-November and I honestly will sometimes just pull it up so I can see it again. It makes me so happy.

Since the cover is now public, I’ve added a new page for the book, where you’ll find the cover, blurb, and a fun little playlist of songs inspired by the characters and events in “Red Flags.”

The Álvarez-Moreno Files

So, “Red Flags.” Let’s talk about it. Originally, I had ideas that this would be a romantic comedy and then I started writing and realized I wrote way too many murders and monsters into it. So, yeah, it’s urban fantasy but with romantic comedy undertones.

What exactly can I tell you about this series? Well, it will contain five books and I plan to release one every six months or so with the series concluding, hopefully, in early 2026. I’ve already written four of the books (currently in various stages of edits) so I’m in pretty good shape, I think. I plan to start writing the fifth and final book next month.

Each book incorporates a different type of reality show and a different type of relationship. “Red Flags,” as you might imagine, incorporates elements of “The Bachelor” and explores romantic love. Future books will focus more on friendships, sibling/parental relationships, etc. It’s been really fun delving into all these areas in Mateo’s life and I can’t wait for you to read all about them.

Looking for an ARC?

Are you interested in receiving an ARC for “Red Flags?” Early reviews can be really helpful when launching a new book. If you’re interested in receiving a free digital advanced reader copy and leaving an honest rating or review around the book’s release, please fill out this form and I’ll send you one.

I can’t believe that in just about a month my new book comes out. I’m so ready for it and I hope you are too!

Leave a comment